It’s Christmas Time! It’s Christmas Time!

So, it is officially the first day of the Christmas season.  This year, for the third time in my adult life, I get to have Christmas at my own house.  Can I get an amen?  Hallelujah!!!  No traveling for us! The thing is, my mom decorates her house from top to bottom.  Because they have lived their for over 20 years, she has established traditions (the creche goes here, the candles go there. . . etc.)  In this new house, I have not only a new space to decorate, but a whole new color scheme to think about.  Add to that the new South Florida climate, and we get a whole new Christmas look!

So today, after the post Thanksgiving potato pancake breakfast (yum, and thank you to my mother-in-law).  We went to buy a fresh tree.  Since we don’t have to travel, we get to have a fresh one this year, a first for my little man who has only ever had artificial trees.

We are keeping the beachy vibe going with our Christmas decorations.  At first I was torn between the beautiful tree that I wanted and the multi-colored, multi-styled ornaments that I had been collecting for years.  I used all of my old ornaments, but added the turquoise that I love all over the tree.  I also used cheapy plastic bulbs in turquoise, silver, and green in fishbowls.

Ornaments aren't just for the tree!

Keeping the color theme going without going overboard.

So the 8 foot fresh tree was a MAJOR steal at only $31.00.  I added a dozen super cheap turquoise glitter snowflakes for $2.50.  The silk poinsettias, silver coral, and turquoise and gold ribbon were a little more pricey, but I had left overs of to use elsewhere.  My mom bought the tree skirt for me for my birthday, so the whole thing (including tree stand, extra lights, and decorations) cost about $110.00.  In some cities, you can’t even get a tree for that, and I will have all of these decorations for years!  Take a look at this gorgeousness.

Our Beachy Christmas

Please disregard the boxes and bags that I had not moved around.  The lantern also moved to live on the buffet.

Turquoise Poinsettieas? Yes, please!

Note the peanut ornament that my parents purchased at the Carter Foundation.  They were there at an event to honor donors to Habitat for Humanity, and knowing I was eating my heart out, they bought me this ornament.  Now every year I can remember that I couldn’t go.

Margaret Furlong Shell Ornament

 

About Sarah

My family is making a new start, beginning with a move from Jacksonville to St. Petersburg, Fl. We are starting over in a new house, new job, and a new philosophy on life. Its time to transplant the family tree and grow new roots!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

